Five Questions with… Colin McAdam

(c) Lisa Myers

(c) Lisa Myers

Colin McAdam, author of A Beautiful Truth, answered our five questions.

IFOA: A Beautiful Truth is told in part from the perspective of chimpanzees. Tell us one thing readers might be surprised to learn about chimps.

McAdam: They have more in common with us genetically and immunologically than two gophers living on different sides of the Colorado River.  We call all gophers gophers, but have a hard time calling ourselves apes.

IFOA: You’ve lived all over the world. Which place do you miss the most?

abeautifultruth_bluhuis2_apprvd.inddMcAdam: I feel a lot of nostalgia for Montreal and England. But part of choosing where I live is knowing that I’m not going to miss the places I have moved from. I’m happy here.

IFOA: What was your favourite book as a child?

McAdam: I was most proud of reading James Clavell’s Tai-Pan when I was eight. Racy.

IFOA: If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?

McAdam: Maybe I’d be a builder. I feel like no matter what I would be doing, I would be a writer.

IFOA: Finish this sentence: I often wonder…

McAdam: Why writers have to make so little money.

McAdam will read at Authors at Harbourfront Centre on March 27.

Leave a Reply

