Beep! Why you need to edit

By Brian Francis

(c) Paula Wilson

(c) Paula Wilson

There’s a car commercial running on TV right now. It shows a man about to make some stupid mistakes. Every time he goes to make one, a beeping sound pulls him back. My god, I thought. What I wouldn’t give to have a “beep” in my own life.

In many ways, fiction editing isn’t unlike that beep. As writers, we’re too often absorbed in the creative process of writing to take a hard look at some of the common mistakes we’re making. And that’s why learning to edit yourself is so important. It forces you to ask the questions that need answering. Can my dialogue be better? Am I engaging my readers enough? Does the structure of my story serve or hinder? Bottom line? The better you’re equipped to deal with problems in your manuscript, the better your chances of success.

Editing 101, a one-day workshop on February 23 and presented in partnership with IFOA, is unique in that it gives participants the chance to learn about the editing process from the perspective of a published writer (that would be me) and of an editor (Nita Pronovost, senior editor at Doubleday Canada). The goal of the workshop is to introduce tips and tools to emerging and self-published writers to help take their manuscripts to the next level.

On March 16, we’ll be following up this workshop with Publicity 101, featuring a published writer (er, me again) and Adria Iwasutiak, publicity manager at Random House of Canada.

I hope you’ll consider joining us for Editing 101. While I can’t guarantee you a bestseller by the end of it, I can guarantee that you’ll walk away with new insights, new ideas and, hopefully, a “beep” to call your own.

For more information or to register, visit Courses and Workshops.

Leave a Reply

