Five Questions with… Jane Johnson

© The Fisher Agenc

Jane Johnson, author of The Sultan’s Wife, will participate in IFOA events on October 23 and October 27. She will also travel to Uxbridge for IFOA Ontario.

IFOA: Who are you most excited to see at the Festival?

Johnson: I’m really looking forward to meeting Annabel Lyon, whose Golden Mean is one of my favourite novels of all time. I also love her continuation of the story, The Sweet Girl. I hope to get a chance to tell her how much.

IFOA: You wear two literary hats: a writer’s and an editor’s. How has been an editor improved your writing? Has it ever hindered it?

Johnson: Being an editor enables me to view writing as a flexible process, or like engineering, rather than as some mystical gift. There will always be times when it gets away from me and times when it scares and surprises me (that’s the wonder of creativity, which should always be a bit wild) but crafting the writing is how an author gets their material back under some semblance of control, and knowing it’s not all going to fall apart at the seams if you start cutting and restructuring is very reassuring.

But yes, sometimes that very knowledge can be a hindrance: it can feel infinitely mutable and if you over-edit you can edit the life out of something. And being a writer makes me a better editor, too: more empathetic with the authors I work with, more practical and constructive in my comments. It’s a two-way learning process that never ends.

IFOA: You spend part of the year working from a rural village in Morocco. How do you stay connected to the publishing world?

Johnson: Ah, the wonders of the internet. Whatever did we do before email and Skype? If you saw my village, in the foothills of the mountains just north of the Sahara, you’d be amazed we have broadband at all, but in fact we were connected in Tafraout before I was connected in my home in Cornwall! It really doesn’t matter where I am in the world, and the beauty about the flexibility of my working conditions means that (without having to constantly be stuck in meetings) I can be in much better and quicker contact with my authors than most office-bound publishers.

IFOA: If you could have lunch with any author, alive or dead, who would you choose?

Johnson: That’s a tough question! I am lucky in being able to have lunches with the wonderful writers I work with—writers like George RR Martin, Dean Koontz, Robin Hobb, Raymond Feist—so I’d better choose a dead author. Even then all I can do is to narrow it down to three: Robert Graves, Daphne du Maurier or Mary Renault.

IFOA: Finish this sentence: I write best when…

Johnson: I am sitting on a remote bit of rock by the Cornish sea with my head full of story and no interruptions or duties for the day. Oh, how I wish that happened a lot more than it does now: that’s a real blue-moon scenario!

IFOA: Bonus question: International Festival of Authors in one word:

Johnson: Cornucopia.

For more about Johnson’s appearance at IFOA, click here.

Leave a Reply

