Five Questions with… Stacey Madden

Stacey Madden, author of Poison Shy, will participate in a Sunday, October 21 round table discussion called Novelists for a New Age.

IFOA: What are you reading right now?

Madden: I just finished reading The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas, which is a brilliant novel. I keep hearing that the Australian television miniseries is excellent as well, but I have this silly rule in which I refuse to watch anything adapted for the screen if I really enjoyed the book.

IFOA: What do you and your Poison Shy protagonist Brandon Galloway have in common? In what ways are you different?

Madden: Brandon and I have two things in common — our ages (he’s 29, I’m 30), and our solitary natures. We differ in a number of ways. Brandon dropped out of university and ended up working in pest control; I spent seven years completing two degrees and I work part-time at a book shop. Brandon’s mother is schizophrenic; my mother is very much sane. Brandon is an only child; I’m the eldest of four. Brandon is a bit of a loser, and I’m. . .well, I guess we have that in common too.

IFOA: What’s one thing you wish someone had told you five years ago?

Madden: Don’t sunbathe naked in the hot Dominican sun.

IFOA: If you could time travel, where and when would you go, and why?

Madden: I would put my time machine in storage, wait until my first cardiac arrest (which hopefully doesn’t kill me), then use it to travel back to my early twenties so I can be young and reckless all over again.

IFOA: Finish this sentence: The Internet is…

Madden: …both a useful promotional tool, and an assault to the very existence of privacy.

IFOA: Bonus question: International Festival of Authors in one word:

Madden: Full-bodied.

Leave a Reply

